It’s back!

The Mexican pizza is definitely a favorite among the south asian/desi community. Growing up in a family of vegetarians the only fast food option we had was Taco Bell and my entire extended family has a deep love for the place. As I got older I mostly stopped eating fast food but any road trip I still enjoy stopping in for some nostalgia. They eliminated the Mexican pizza from the menu in early COVID days and tomorrow, it’s back!

It’ll be a fun treat in an otherwise bleak time.

I hope you’re all staying sane and finding moments of calm.

My first animation!

Our book STRONG releases today!! I made my first animation to celebrate! My schedule is packed for years to come (with lots of comics!) so it was exciting to carve out time to try something new.

I’ve signed copies of STRONG at Books Inc Palo Alto and Alameda as well as Bel and Bunna in Lafayette.

 

Also, tomorrow May 11th, I will virtually present about my path to art and comics with the Contra Costa library. You can register for this free event here.

 

I hope you have a wonderful week.

New newsletter and events!

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted! I had issues with google groups, which I’ve used for 10 years without fail! I’ve moved to substack. It’s easy and free.

So here are some updates – we’re 2 weeks away from the release of my next picture book STRONG. There are many exciting things happening for it that I look forward to sharing when I can! For now, you can pre-order a signed copy with Books Inc.

Speaking of Books Inc, I will be there tomorrow for a story time, signing and live drawing in support of Independent Book Store day.

And I’ll end this update with a comic about returning to work. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Turning Red

We watched Turning Red this weekend and haven’t stopped listening to the songs since. My 6 year old and I are definitely 4 townies! I think Turning Red might be my favorite pixar film to date.

Meanwhile I’ve been traveling a bit and invested in an ipad and pencil, so I am able to quickly sketch and it feels exciting to be able to draw from life again. I was recently in Houston through the Texas Book Festival and was able to read to some kids and it was precious.

I look forward to being able to share more drawings this year!

Weekend comics

The best part of my weekend was reading comics with my 6 year old. I hope you found some good moments, too.

Today is the last day of my $2 card and magnet sale.

Card and magnet sale

Now until March 7 all cards and magnets are only $2! No coupon code necessary. Stock up for birthdays, mother’s day, or just to tell your loved ones how much they mean to you. Happy writing and thank you for shopping small.

 

Overstock sale

Enjoy deeply discounted prints and cards in my overstock inventory sale! Grab em before they’re gone as quantities are limited. Regularly priced prints, $20-35 are on sale for $5-8, and all cards are $2 until the end of the month.

Thank you for your support!

New dates – Festival of Arts

I’ve adjusted my Disney World dates for the Epcot Festival of Arts. Find at the Wonderground Gallery tent (in the France pavilion) signing my three new illustrations between February 13-17th.

“Where dreams are made”

“Love goes on and on”

“Awesome mix”

Please note that my art will be available for the duration of the festival, January 14-Feb 21st. They keep a limited stock of prints and postcards so if you don’t see the work please ask a cast member. Please check the parks website for the most up to date information about the festival.

I look forward to seeing you there!

Books of Wonder

Happy new year! My first virtual event of the year is this Sunday January 9th at 10am PST/1pm EST with four other authors for an afternoon of reading and discussion!

This wonderful story-sharing event will feature MIKE CURATO for Where is Bina Bear?MATTHEW CORDELL for Cornbread & PoppyJOSEPH KUEFLER for Bigger Than a BumblebeeNIDHI CHANANI for What Will My Story Be? and SCOTT STUART for The Very First You.

You can register for the event here.

Hope to see you there!

Shark Princess!

Eeee! SHARK PRINCESS cover reveal!! Finally I can share my early reader graphic novel series with Viking/Penguin! Beautiful colors by Elizabeth Kramer. Book one will swim to you next fall!

Thank you to John Schu for the cover reveal.

“Shark Princess is about two fishy friends, Kitana and Mack, who learn about themselves through exciting underwater adventures. Kitana is a charming and gentle shark while Mack is playful and energetic, and I wanted to capture those differences in the cover. I was delighted to work with the design studio, Plaid Again, on the iconic title treatment. They helped realize my vision for a bold, clean design. I put my whole heart into this series and I am so excited to share it with readers!”

A new early reader graphic novel series from the critically acclaimed creator of Pashmina, perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly.

Meet Kitana—a Shark Princess and the first of her kind. Her allergy-ridden, best friend, Mack, wants to be one too, but he worries that his sharp teeth and big sneezes make him too dangerous to be a princess.
With Kitana’s help, Mack realizes his unique shine. When Mack puts on his crown for the first time, these Shark Princesses are ready to explore the ocean and embark on a fintastic adventure!

Nidhi Chanani’s signature artwork brings this underwater series to life in a spunky tale about friendship and redefining who and what a princess can be.

Look for Shark Princess on September 13, 2022.